Zenit TTL

The first film camera I ever owned was a Zenit 11. I saved up for it when I was a teenager and it was really all I could afford. It was manual and had a little pin that you had to match up to another pin to find the correct setting. It felt like a brick. I couldn’t afford the more advanced TTL which had a Through The Lens metering system. Looking back now I know that the 11 taught me a lot, aperture, speed and stuff. But at the time I wanted the next step up, the beginnings of camera envy. So when I saw one on eBay for a pittance I dived in.

I really had forgotten what a brick it was. I put in some expired film and went for a walk around Leeds. I felt weird trying to street photo there, it seemed much more aggressive than Tokyo. On the whole Japanese people are reserved and non-confrontational. Yorkshire people are made of different stock and a few told me right up front to stop and “F… Off”. Apart from the main gentleman you see in the photos , who was very interested in the camera and asked why I had a zenit. But, in the end I gave up and went to the Corn Exchange.

As you can see they are all a bit under exposed. As the camera is not voltage reliant I thought maybe it was the fault of the film. So I tried another half of a film.

The shot straight into the sun is a little funky and the camera could not handle that. The rest are ok, maybe a little over. Either way my camera seems to be a little hit and miss on the TTL side. The comments on this blog say basically the same thing, a brick of a camera with an unreliable metering system. The camera is a bit of an eye catcher, but there are much better cameras out there for not much more money. There are even better Russian cameras. There is nothing really special about this one to go into major technical details, the quickest speed is 1/500th. The usual accompanying lens starts at f2 to f16, so nothing really special there either. A no frills, cheap camera that weighs as much as a small car.

I may sell this camera when I get back to the UK, right now it is in another country so it will stay mine for a while.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

